An important relationship

Of all the people to know in your local area, one of the most important is a Good Mechanic.  I happen to have one and I knew that.  But, today, I developed an even deeper appreciation for how good this guy is.  Check it out…

I had to take my car in for some work.  The oil system was acting up again.  After he fixed it, we were talking about what was going on and what we could do in the future to help it.  Then, he starts telling me about how my oil system could be thought of like an electrical system and about how the oil pressure is like voltage.  My jaw hit the floor.  I think he thought I was confused.  In actuality, I was stunned.

You see, what he was talking about is something engineers call “analogous systems”.  Basically, in a lot of different types of systems, you will find that the mathematics look exactly the same.  I mean in dramatically different kinds of systems too.  So in thermal systems and fluid systems, electrical systems, mechanical spring systems…   you can look at the mathematics and find similarities.  Those similarities can then be used to say things like “your oil pressure is like electrical voltage”.  It’s not a terribly difficult idea.. but it is rare to find someone who knows about it, much less understands it.  I was shocked to learn that my mechanic understood the idea.. but it sure did make me feel good about taking my car to the guy.

 

So, anyone in Columbus, OH that is looking for a good mechanic —  Imports Plus Automotive is the place to be.

3 responses to “An important relationship

  • Timothy

    I concur. Brad uses great attention to detail to ensure he puts only matching parts and the best service into his repair work. He also goes out of his way to ensure his customers’ respective best interests.

    –Tim
    Dublin

  • Bette

    I am really loving the theme/design of your site.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues?
    A couple of my blog audience have complained about my blog not operating correctly in
    Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any recommendations to
    help fix this problem?

  • Paige Harris

    I viusited various websites hoever the auio quality for audio songs existig at this site is really superb.

Leave a Reply

